Safety Culture in the News

Safety Culture in the News

New Zealand Construction Leadership

Leading questions: Fletcher’s Ross Taylor on restructuring, safety

Q: What was your worst job?

A: During my university holiday work one year, I was working out on a dam construction site and when the sewage treatment settlement tank pump system broke I volunteered with two others to manually dig out all the sediment. That’s a nice word for it. I got triple time for it but I know I felt at the time it really was not worth it. I am now sure it wasn’t worth it.

Q: If you could change one thing about the workplace what would it be?

A: People getting injured. If I could eliminate all safety risks, I would. But instead, we have to eliminate the belief they are unavoidable and create a safety culture that keeps all our people safe every day.