Safety Culture in the News

Safety Culture in the News

Carlile terminal manager credits team for safety award nomination

Carlile terminal manager credits team for safety award nomination … “I believe I was nominated because of our terminal’s overall safety record,” Sibley said. “We’ve met and even beaten all of the safety goals set by our regulatory department during the past five years, including lost time and recordable injuries. I can’t take all the credit – my team knocks it out of the park with the safety culture in Tacoma.”

“We’ve met and even beaten all of the safety goals set by our regulatory department during the past five years, including lost time and recordable injuries. I can’t take all the credit – my team knocks it out of the park with the safety culture in Tacoma.”

Sibley said he fights complacency and keeps safety top-of-mind by implementing the message “on a constant cadence” of daily safety briefings with all personnel and clear signage throughout the terminal.

“Safety now has become culture. Safety and safe practices in Tacoma have practically become instinctual and safety leads itself,” he said.