Safety Culture in the News

Safety Culture in the News

'How to report safely: Strategies for women journalists & their allies' now available as a self-directed online course

knightcenter.utexas.edu/how-to-re…

“How To Report Safely is an important resource for women journalists and allies alike. Almost all journalism safety courses cover major threats like how to survive a terrorist attack, treat a bullet wound or what to do in a natural disaster. These are vital topics. However, what is often missed is a more nuanced discussion of the risks that come with our gender identity, and what we can do to mitigate them,” said Nadine Hoffman, IWMF deputy director.

“As women and non-binary journalists, we face layered threats, and it’s critical to address them candidly, as Alison Baskerville did with empathy and deep expertise in this MOOC. While we have much more work to do to create an inclusive journalism safety culture, this is a critical step in the right direction,” said Hoffman.

“I really think [the course] has equipped me with the tools to be better prepared whenever I go out to report on a story,” one course participant said in final evaluations. “I currently work from home, so at times I don’t think of the dangers many journalists experience. This information will help whenever I do end up working in the field and I will definitely pass on this information to my colleagues.”