Safety Culture in the News

Safety Culture in the News

PCL’s unique value proposition for the mining industry

www.tbnewswatch.com/spotlight…

Ray McIvor’s passion for and commitment to safety on the job comes from a deeply personal place.

When he was just a young man, his best friend lost his life due to a horrifying workplace accident. “Being close to him, I knew his family and I’ve seen the aftermath of it. It hit me hard,” he says.

The accident occurred in the mid-90s when safety culture was just starting, says McIvor, who had been working as a welder at the time. He immediately knew he needed to take a proactive role and improve safety conditions for everyone on the job.

“I decided I want to protect my co-workers, who are like family,” he says. “I learned through a bad experience what happened to a friend and I just don’t want it happening to another one.”

Industry-Leading Safety is a Shared Value

McIvor is now a Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) Coordinator for PCL Construction. He served as the health and safety supervisor representative on a recent mining industry project in Sudbury.

That project, now completed, was complex in that it combined two separate and distinct health and safety systems.